Why I'm Using a Money Clip These Days

05/31/2014 12:14

It’s taken me a long time to arrive here. I can’t quite believe that I didn’t discover this sooner. Up until last year I’d always carried my cash in a wallet. Occasionally I would use my (beautiful) rag & bone leather card holder. I hadn’t however tried a money clip. That was until I was bought one as a gift for my birthday last year. It’s completely changed the way I carry my cash and has stopped me from taking things out that I never use. I can’t believe the amount of cards that I used to carry round with me and never used. My old wallet was enormous! Take a look below at my three devices for carrying money and cards. It’s incredible to think that this small money clip can fit everything I need.

The money clip that was bought for me is made by M-Clip, an American company. After doing a bit of Googling, turns out that this is one of the best money clips around. They also produce some other cool stuff, like cufflinks and keychains. M-Clip has a really nice distinctive style and I’m very fond of the aesthetic of their products. They all look like quality pieces of jewelry that have been crafted and constructed to a high standard. I can’t remember the last time I had a product that I like so much. It’s made a big difference to me. It works like a dream and looks awesome. I will never go back to my wallet. It seems so big, heavy and completely unnecessary. It’s all about traveling light these days and that should apply to the wallet as well.

My money clip has a capacity of about 10 bills and up to 8 credits. I’ve never needed to or wanted to carry anywhere near 8 credits cards in it though! I usually take only two cards out and think the most I’ve ever carried in it is four. I suppose it’s nice for those people who may need to carry extra cards though – knowing that the capacity is there. I even came across an XL M-Clip, which has an ever bigger capacity. It’s based on the same design and looks almost identical but just a bit deeper.

What I love the most about my money clip is the way it closes and grips the currency. It’s designed with two sliding levers. You slide those up and then press them, that opens the clip and allows you to place your cash inside – it grips them nice and tightly. You then slide the levers back down and it closes the whole thing. Take a look at the video to see for yourself!

So my new found fascination with money clips resulted in me doing some research into these wonderful little devices! I started looking to try and find out what the best money clip is. Turns out that this is very much open to debate and personal preference. Some people prefer a money clip card holder and others use the slimmest money clip they can find. Some of my personal favorites include: the paper clip money clip (a giant paper clip to store money in), Bosca’s Old Leather Money Clip, the Swiss Army Money Clip and Tumi’s Monaco Money Clip Card Case. There are so many more that I could list but they’re the top money clips for me, based on appearance and style. Of course, I haven’t used any of these so make sure you read up about them first if you’re going to buy one. There are plenty of reviews on Amazon so you can decide for yourself.